Kundalini Yoga

Yoga means ‘union’and Kundali means ‘circle’. Kundalini yoga is all about the coming together of the body, mind and soul for arousal of true consciousness. This yoga is less about body movements, postures and asana and more about creating a circle of self-realization and self-discipline. The guiding principle behind this yoga is unique, ‘arousing the sleeping serpent though not without its dangers, may hold the key to the latent genius inside us.’ Now what can we do to awaken the genius inside us? Perhaps the one true answer is kundalini yoga which is a combination of certain systematic physical exercises and techniques of concentration, visualization and pranayama. Kundalini yoga is actually a synthesis of many forms and techniques of yoga which including hatha yoga techniques, pitanjali`s kriya yoga, tantric visualization and laya yoga.

7 Chakras of the Spine

‘Yoga dictates that out consciousness is stored in the 7 chakras present in our spine.’

7 chakra

The lower three chakras are known as the Root, Sacral and Solar plexus. These are ruled by motherly earth. They keep us grounded to the earthly realities of human life. The heart chakra in the middle is the joining of masculine and feminine. The upper three circle are related with our spirit. They are considered divine, hence known as Crown, Third eye and Throat chakras.

These chakras are energy vortices which are full of prana or life force. It is necessary to clear the energy blocks from our chakras to allow the awaken kundalini energy to rise up through us, and uplift our mind and body.

Two Approached of Kundalini

There are two approaches for practicing this specialized yoga: Active and Passive. Both techniques focus on uplifting the energy stored in the end of your spine towards your brain through the 7 chakras of the body. It is a gradual process that takes the help of meditation techniques including postures, purification practices, ritual gestures and regulated breathing. This leads to union with shakti (divine energy) or atman (cosmic self), which is an extraordinary state of awareness and bliss.


One is the ‘active approach’ in which there should be some trained guru or yoga practitioner. He focuses on relieving the impediments that are getting in the way of your ‘awakening’.


The second approach is the ‘passive approach’. The guru’s role is limited to a trainer of sorts while you perform all the moves on your own.

Basic Asana or Postures in Kundalini Yoga

There are 7 Kundalini poses that activate the process of ‘clearing the chakras’. They are:

Crow asana

Inspired by the crow, this asana opens the flow of the first chakra. Supposed to be associated with elements of fear and survival, this is done for opening the root chakra.


Frog asana

This asana is inspired by frog. This is for opening the second chakra, the sacral chakra. It controls the elements of creation and desire.


Stretch asana

This is about the element of human will and activity. In this asana, the body is stretched to clear the solar plexus, the third chakra.


Camel asana

This one is a little tough to perform. This asana is known as the asana of love as it supposed to clear the heart chakra, the fourth one.


Cobra asana

This asana is inspired by the cobra. It is supposed to be directly connected with communication; this asana clears the throat chakra, the fifth chakra in the series.


Guru Pranam asana

This asana is ‘of wisdom and for the wisdom’. It clears the ‘sixth chakra’ also called the ‘third eye’.


Sat Kriya asana

This is the last but most spiritual asana. One is to chant ‘OM’ or ‘SAT NAM’ constantly while sitting by their heels. This asana improves inner peace.


What if the ‘Serpent’ is Awaked but Uncontrolled?

The unsupervised kundalini may result in mental confusion, gastric disorders, sexual dysfunctional and unexplained mood swings. It is advisable to perform Kundalini under the guidance of a trained Yoga Instructor.

We hope you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *